The Philippe Austruy Collection

A passion for art to be shared

Buildings, spaces, trails, and the artistic layout of La Commanderie de Peyrassol have been rearranged to highlight the Philippe Austruy Collection – a constant evolution of over a hundred masterpieces – to offer the public a museum-like experience.



Contemporary Art at La Commanderie de Peyrassol enhances outstanding landscapes that mesmerize visitors. Unique dialogue between art and nature, the scenography of the sculpture park has been redesigned with the help of the landscape designer Gaële Bazennerye to offer a more enjoyable trail through a profusion of works of art, especially those created on site such as Cylindre ouvert et aux couleurs (2016-2017) by Daniel Buren, Hommage à Lou (2011) by Bertrand Lavier or Socle de la réalité (2008-2009) by Jean-Pierre Raynaud.

Secluded clearings, exclusively punctuated with Mediterranean plants, have been created to offer unobstructed views. Perspectives have been opened up and rearranged to enhance the artistic value of each piece and offer a better signposted pathway through the nearly 80 creations by Ugo Rondinone, César, Ben, Lee Ufan, Dan Graham, Antony Gormley, Joana Vasconcelos, Gisela Colon, Jean Tinguely, Antoni Tapies, Anne and Patrick Poirier, Bernar Venet, Wim Delvoye, Carsten Höller, Gloria Friedmann, Sislej Xhafa…


Since 2016, the most delicate works of the Collection have been housed in a remarkable setting of concrete and Corten steel designed in the heart of the vineyards by architect Charles Berthier. An artistic entity in its own right, bathed in a well of light, this 800 m2 space welcomed at its opening sculptures that could not be placed outdoors due to weather conditions.

In 2021, to diversify the types of works displayed and offer an enriched experience to visitors, Philippe Austruy decided to add panels to this minimalist space. This subtle transformation now allows for wall installations and displays involving painting or photography, aspects previously little or not showcased from the remarkable Philippe Austruy Collection.

The centerpiece of this new scenography is the installation Environment (1968) by Jean-Pierre Raynaud, presented as it was originally in the apartment of Jean-Marie Rossi in the 1960s. The fifteen panels that make up the work have been dismantled, reorganized, and reveal, for the first time, a historical reconstitution of the living room of the great Parisian antique dealer.

Major creations such as Immaterial Curves (1982) by Jesús-Rafael Soto, Tengan-Tenganan (2009) by Frank Stella, Triple X Neonly (2012) by François Morellet, The Mermaid (1983) by Niki de Saint Phalle, Model of the Tower of Figures (1986) by Jean Dubuffet, The Mobile (2005) by Xavier Veilhan, Incomplete Open Cube (1973) by Sol LeWitt, Télélumière Relief (1982) by Takis, Gilgamesh (2016) by Anish Kapoor, or Untitled (2015) by Robert Barry, also have dedicated spaces within this extension of the Commanderie de Peyrassol.

This space is accessible only through guided tours.


For a group of at least 15 people, please enquire

Free visit: 13€ / per person
Cost of a guided visit (not in a group): 20€
Two golf buggies can be hired to enjoy the whole estate and discover all the masterpieces.
Cost: 15€ for 60 minutes.

Ride in a horse-drawn carriage to see the sculpture park:
Discover our guided tour of the estate and the sculpture park in a horse-driven carriage.
Volkan will be your guide for this ride.

Information and reservation at:

Artists at Peyrassol


Rita Ackermann / Franco Adami / Etel Adnan / Nicolas Alquin / Olga de Amaral / Kader Attia / Arman / David Altmejd / Robert Barry / Ben / Pascal Bernier / Philippe Berry / André Borderie / Clément Borderie / Berlinde De Bruyckere / Daniel Buren / Pol Bury / Antony Caro / Loris Cecchini / César / Alain Clément / Gisela Colon / Robert Combas / Wim Delvoye / Jean Dubuffet / Jean Claude Fahri / Martine Feipel & Jean Béchameil / Barry Flanagan / Patrick Fleury / Jean-Michel Folon / Gloria Friedmann / Carlos Garaicoa / Kendell Geers / Kostis Georgiou / Emile Gilioli / Osvaldo González / Dan Graham / Shilpa Gupta / Raymond Hains / Anish Kapoor / Zhanna Kadyrova / Bertrand Lavier / Fabrice Langlade / Francois-Xavier Lalanne / Pierre-Marie Lejeune / Sol LeWitt / Alexander Liberman / Cat Loray / Richard Long / Jorge Macchi / Federica Matta / Jacques Monory / François Morellet / Henri Olivier / Denis Oppenheim / Panamarenko / Michelangelo Pistoletto / Jaume Plensa / Anne et Patrick Poirier / Robert Rauschenberg / Jean-Pierre Raynaud / Pablo Reinoso / Stefan Rinck / Ugo Rondinone / Rotraut / Félix Roulin / Ulrich Rückriem / Kathleen Ryan / Niki de Saint Phalle / Chiharu Shiota / Luzia Simons / Vladimir Skoda / Francisco Sobrino / Josh Sperling / Daniel Spoerri / Jeanne Susplugas / Frank Stella / Takis / Antoni Tàpies / Pascale Marthine Tayou / Agnès Thurnauer / Jean Tinguely / Jean-Jacques Tosello / Gavin Turk / Keiji Uematsu / Lee Ufan / DeWain Valentine / Felice Varini / Victor Vasarely / Joanna Vasconcelos / Xavier Veilhan / Bernar Venet / Nari Ward / Marthe Wéry / Douglas White / Sislej Xhafa / José Yaque / Sun Yuan et Peng Yu / Huang Yong Ping