The Art of Living in Provence

Founded in the 13th century by the Knights Templar, the Commanderie de Peyrassol covers an area of some 850 hectares dotted with oaks and olive groves, with 93 hectares dedicated to growing grapes. Thanks to its outstanding natural location the Commanderie was a favoured staging post and a place of rest for pilgrims on their way to the Holy Land.

At an elevation of 330 metres on the lower slopes of the Massif des Maures, the vineyard sits on a clay and limestone soil which is ideal for viticulture. Since the first varieties were planted by the Templars some 800 years ago, generations of wine growers have applied their know-how to nurturing the vineyard and its wines through the dedicated cultivation of this exceptional terroir.

Since 2003 Alban Cacaret has managed the Commanderie de Peyrassol alongside his uncle, Philippe Austruy, who has owned the estate since 2001. Together they have restored the domaine to its former glory and have made Peyrassol one of the most respected vineyards in Provence.

Vignes de la Commanderie de Peyrassol

The wines of Peyrassol

The Peyrassol wine storehouse, built from ancestral stone, contains the latest equipment which allows vinification to be performed with a high degree of precision. While remaining true to tradition, the domaine has adapted to the major advances in winemaking, combining these with the expertise of a highly capable team which oversees the operations.

The wines of Peyrassol express to perfection the quality of the terroir and several centuries of know-how. Clos Peyrassol, Château Peyrassol and Commanderie de Peyrassol are three AOC Côtes de Provence lineages which are classed amongst the top grands crus in their AOC category and represent the very essence of Provence. Fresh, refined and delicate, they will provide the perfect accompaniment to shared occasions and moments of relaxation, and will surprise you with their powerful and harmonious aromas.

Guest Accomodation : Staying overnight at Peyrassol

Echoing its prestigious past, the Commanderie de Peyrassol has revived and updated the tradition of hospitality which it inherited from the Templars. Our guest rooms offer the perfect opportunity to enjoy a weekend or even a week away from it all, amidst the peace and tranquillity of unspoilt nature. The rooms have been tastefully renovated in the style you would expect of a location so steeped in history, and are equipped with every modern comfort and convenience.

Opening Hours of Peyrassol

La Commanderie de Peyrassol is opened daily between April, 15th and October, 15th, from 9:00 am to 7:00 pm Mondays to Fridays, and from 10:00 am to 7:00 am on weekends.
From Octobre, 16th to April, 14th, Peyrassol is opened from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm Mondays to Fridays, and from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm Saturdays. Closed Sundays.

Daly winery tours at 11:00 am, 2:30 pm and 5:00 pm (only one daily visit at 11:00am from mid-october to Easter).
The art gallery of the Commanderie de Peyrassol can be visited daily : guided tour at 2:30 pm (4:00 pm from mid-october to Easter). Early booking is advised.

A showcase for the creativity of our times

The monumental sculpture park located in the midst of our vines and woodland is one of the finest open-air collections of contemporary art. These works create a link between art and history, and a stroll round the park leads to surprising discoveries and reveals the intimate heart of the Commanderie, for which most of these works were specially created. Jean Dubuffet, Jean Tinguely, Arman, César, Niki de Saint Phalle, Bernar Venet … the most prestigious artists are on display here, inviting the visitor to marvel, to reflect and to simply enjoy.

Vin et Art en Provence

Fondée au XIIIe siècle par l’Ordre des Templiers, la Commanderie de Peyrassol s’étend sur près de 950 hectares ponctués de chênes et d’oliveraies, dont 100 dédiés à la culture de la vigne. Grâce à sa situation naturelle exceptionnelle, la Commanderie était un lieu d’étape et de repos sur la route vers la Terre Sainte, pour les pèlerins de passage.

Situé à 330 m d’altitude sur les contreforts du Massif des Maures, le vignoble s’épanouit sur un sol argilo-calcaire propice à la viticulture. Depuis les premiers cépages plantés il y a près de 800 ans par les Templiers, des générations de vignerons ont mis leur savoir-faire au service de la vigne et du vin en cultivant avec ferveur ce terroir d’exception.

Depuis 2003, Alban Cacaret dirige la Commanderie de Peyrassol, aux côtés de son oncle, Philippe Austruy, propriétaire depuis 2001. Ensemble, ils ont redonné au domaine son rayonnement d’antan, et fait de Peyrassol un des vignobles les plus réputés de Provence.

Vignes de la Commanderie de Peyrassol

Les vins de Peyrassol

A Peyrassol, le chai aux pierres ancestrales abrite un équipement de pointe permettant des vinifications d’une grande précision. Sans rien renier de la tradition, le domaine s’est adapté aux grandes avancées de l’œnologie, et adjoint l’expertise d’une équipe compétente, pour superviser les opérations.

Les vins de Peyrassol sont la plus parfaite expression de la qualité du terroir et de ce savoir-faire plusieurs fois centenaire. Clos Peyrassol, Château Peyrassol et Commanderie de Peyrassol, ces trois cuvées AOC Côtes de Provence sont classées parmi les plus grands crus de l’appellation, et représentent l’essence même de la Provence. Frais, raffinés et délicats, ils accompagneront parfaitement vos moments de partage et de détente, et vous surprendront avec des arômes puissants et harmonieux.

Les chambres d’hôtes de la Commanderie de Peyrassol

Ouvertes à la réservation de Pâques à mi-octobre, les chambres d’hôtes de la Commanderie de Peyrassol vous offre l’opportunité de prolonger votre séjour au cœur de la Provence, et de découvrir tous les charmes de notre domaine. Pour un week-end ou une semaine hors du temps, dans le calme absolu d’une nature préservée, en famille ou entre amis. Rénovées avec goût dans le style qu’impose la force de ces lieux chargés d’histoire, les chambres d’hôtes de la Commanderie de Peyrassol sont dotées de tout le confort moderne.

Horaires d’ouverture du domaine

Le domaine de la Commanderie de Peyrassol est ouvert entre le 15 avril et le 15 octobre de 9h à 19h du lundi au vendredi, et de 10h à 19h le samedi et dimanche.
Entre le 16 octobre et le 14 avril, le domaine est ouvert de 9h à 18h du lundi au vendredi, et de 10h à 18h le samedi. Fermé le dimanche.

Les visites des chais sont organisées tous les jours à 11h, 14h30 et 17h00 (une seule visite par jour à 11h de mi-octobre à Pâques).
La Galerie d’Art de la Commanderie de Peyrassol se visite tous les jours uniquement lors des visites guidées de 10h00 et 16h00. Réservation conseillée.

Un lieu ouvert à la création de notre temps

Le parc de sculptures monumentales situé au milieu des vignes et des bois est l’une des plus belles collections d’art contemporain à ciel ouvert. Comme un trait d’union entre l’art et l’histoire, ces œuvres invitent le promeneur à de curieuses rencontres, et sont comme une plongée dans l’intimité de la Commanderie, pour qui la plupart de ces œuvres ont été créées. Jean Dubuffet, Jean Tinguely, Arman, César, Niki de Saint Phalle, Bernar Venet, … les artistes les plus prestigieux sont exposés au domaine, menant le visiteur entre émerveillement, questionnement et ravissement.